Mondo Announces An Exclusive Comic Book: Adventure Time #17 With A Special Variant Cover By JJ Harrison

The folks at Mondo have been producing jaw dropping prints for some time now.  Not satisfied with just that, they have also been doing brilliant LP soundtracks with original art from some of today’s best artists.  Now Mondo is going where they have never gone before, they are about to release a comic book.AT-comic-blog1With the success of their recent ADVENTURE TIME/ REGULAR SHOW exhibit at their Gallery in Austin, Texas,  Mondo is going to put out a special edition of Adventure Time #17.  This one will NOT be sold in stores and it features a variant cover by JJ Harrison that is reminiscent of a very popular 1982 film.  Here is what Harrison had to say about the project.AT-comic-blog2

“I designed the “Adventure Time” cover to honor the single most important thing in my son’s life–Adventure Time–and one of the movies that had a tremendous impact on my childhood–E.T.  Both center around a boy and his magical companion and the adventures they share together. It was a nice fit.  For me, the original E.T. poster evokes a feeling of soaring adventure coupled with a sense of growing up and loss, and I wanted some of that in this piece, as well. I found a subtle way to include a very melancholy Ice King in the image. I feel like no other character from Adventure Time embodies those emotions more than he does.”JJ Harrison Adventure Time

Follow Mondo on TWITTER for the on sale announcement. This comic book will be available online at a random time on Wednesday, June 26th.  At only $10, this is a must have for fans of E.T., Adventure Time, JJ Harrison, Mondo, or just plain awesomeness in general.

About these ads

About Don Thompson

Blurppy is a constantly changing, always evolving web entity that features articles, reviews, interviews and such from my perspective. Who am I you ask? I'm DT and if you see it on here, I like it, have it, want it, need it, lust it or simply can't afford it. How about you take a gander at my lil part of the massive web universe and if you see something that appeals to you, share it with your friends.
This entry was posted in Art, art exhibit, Comic Books, Mondo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what YOU think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s